Financial companies should be required to have APIs

I know this is not Tiller’s fault… however, the whole value proposition for using Tiller is that I can get my transactions imported automatically. When I have to manually end up getting balances and transactions, it stops being super useful. No only that, but then I’ll have to manually remove duplicated transactions when the sync comes back on.

I even understand that most of the time this is not even Yodlee’s fault, but the financial institutions.

As a dev, I really wish there was some regulation requiring financial institutions to have APIs.

Nothing really to see here. Just a bit frustrated.

2 Likes

Hi @dstcruz,

Thanks for this feedback, and I can totally understand your frustration.

Major banks in the U.S. are moving toward OAUTH based connections, which will remove much of the hassle of 2FA, and this is something that we and Yodlee will need to respond to in the coming months. We hope this will also reduce the likelihood of an outage by offering a more direct connection to the data vs a screen scraping mechanism that is very vulnerable to bringing when a bank updates their website layout.

Heather

2 Likes

The fact that in 2020 the only way to get your data from most banks is still by screen scraping is unbelievable. Of course, it allows the banks to claim no liability given that “well, you gave your password away”, and it doesn’t require them to do any extra work to have their users “see” their data.

Screen scraping falls flat on its face with 2FA.

It is beyond hilarious that many of these very same banks allow you to add “external accounts” to your console so you can see all you accounts in one place (yup, looking at you Ally).

Sorry. Rant over.
Back to work.

What’s even more hilarious is that most of the major banks (not sure about Ally on that one) use Yodlee to add those external sites - same data provider we use :wink:

1 Like