How do you budget for annual (or other non-monthly) expenses

One thing I’m struggling with is making sure that my budget accounts for annual (or other non-monthly) expenses. For example, let’s say I have a magazine subscription that costs $50 and I pay it every August. The easy answer is “just put $50” in August, but that becomes more complicated when:

• I have lots of these things
  • some expenses are in categories that also have a monthly discretionary amount

I’ve thought of creating a new sheet where I could list all of these expenses and then somehow have a 2-item budget for every month where 1 item is coming from the annual sheet and the other is my discretionary. But I’m curious what other folks do with this kind of thing?

Some example of annual expenses:

• insurance (paid annually)
  • subscriptions
  • pet meds (paid quarterly)
  • passport renewals (paid every 5 years)
  • car registration (annual)

Thanks for your insights.

1 Like

Hi @roleary,
I’m sure you are not the only person struggling with this.

I don’t think there is a right way or a wrong way to do it. It’s whatever works for your situation. Does the extra work a workflow might require provide the extra benefits you need to better review your financial situation.

For me, this is one reason why I prefer to enter monthly values in a Yearly budget rather than just a Monthly budget. In many cases these annual expenses are pretty large (insurance, property tax, etc) so its worth the effort to create categories and put them in the month they are due. This way, these large annual expenses help me understand why one month’s expenses might be much higher than another even though I think I spent less.

For expenses categories which include both a monthly amount and a yearly amount, putting in a higher budget amount for the month when there is the one-time annual payment works fine.
The category can include both the monthly and one-time amounts in the budget that way.