Menu inconsistency frustration

A little constructive criticism for the Tiller crew. I have been using Tiller in Google Sheets for about 4 months and something that has always annoyed me is the extensions drop down menus mess. Here are the three actions I use weekly:

Extensions -> Money Feeds -> Fill Sheets
Extensions -> Money Feeds -> Tools -> Add Manual Transaction
Extensions -> Community Solutions -> Reconcile Transactions

There doesn’t seem to be any consistency here. Is there any way for me to reorganize these entries? Or, can the Tiller team take a critical look at the taxonomy and make things more intuitive? Last rhetorical question, why is “Add Manual Transaction” and “Reconcile Transactions” in different menus??

1 Like

We hear you, @jwrobbins. We are mid migration on the manual transactions workflows. The “Add Manual Transaction” workflow was ported from the Tiller Community Solutions add-on months ago and we are still working on a port of the “Reconcile Transactions workflow”. Those two workflows will both be in the Money Feeds add-on later this year.

I’m not sure I understand the issue with “Fill Sheets” and the broader consistency issue. Can you clarify?

2 Likes

I was just illustrating the three actions I use routinely. “Fill Sheets” is probably the most intuitive placement (in my opinion!) when compared to the others. I am glad to hear that Tiller is taking a closer look at the menus and I look forward to the update.

Thanks for your reply @randy

1 Like

Sure thing. There is definitely some legacy in the current implementation and we will implement many improvements to clean things up later this year.

I would add that the placement of Split Transactions always confuses me. One location is no longer supported, and there’s an error message that points to the new placement. I don’t understand why the old placement continues to exist.

2 Likes