Use One Spreadsheet for All Accounts or Many?

Hello all- I am new to Tiller and am discovering that it is a very powerful tool. I don’t want to get overwhelmed and then “quit”. So my question-

I used the foundations template to get started and linked it to my checking account. Do I open a new template for Credit Cards, Savings, etc, or just use one spread sheet to capture everything? Can I use the envelope budget within the foundations template? Are there videos that you can point me to that will show me good examples? TIA

1 Like

If you’re working with two different types of financial activity— like business & personal— I’d recommend two spreadsheets. Most people consolidate all personal accounts within a single spreadsheet.

If you’re interested in envelope budgeting, I’d recommend trying the new Savings Budget. Check this link for documentation and a video demo.

Welcome to Tiller Money, @richphilly1940.

1 Like

Welcome @richphilly1940! Tiller is definitely a powerful tool that can get overwhelming if you start off trying to do too much. I don’t know of many videos, but there is reference documentation like what Randy linked that’s very helpful. Like he said, the Savings Budget is the way to go if you want envelope budgeting. It’s just a new and improved version of the Envelope Budget that works with the Foundation template.

To answer your question, I would also recommend starting with everything in one sheet. You can always add another later if you want, and I agree that you don’t want to overcomplicate things and get overwhelmed. I actually do use two sheets, but I only use one as my budget, the other is more of a secondary sheet for other analysis on just the balances of my accounts. I wouldn’t want to be categorizing transactions in two sheets. To reiterate, I really think that starting with one sheet is the way to go. I didn’t add my second sheet until I saw a specific use case that I thought it would be good for.

3 Likes