Do I need "Transfers"?

Preface: I am not a spreadsheet person. I am not good at this so I am on a huge learning curve.

Do I need to use “Transfer” types?

Example: We are building up our savings, and we have different categories we are saving towards. Both our Checking & Savings accounts are linked to Tiller.

-I have the Expense “Pet Emergencies (Out)” as a category, where the $20 leaves our Checking Account every month.
-I have the Income “Pet Emergencies (Savings)” as a category where the $20 enters our Savings Account every month.

Don’t these zero each other out? Do I need to use “Transfer” types at all? Or hide anything?

If so, I have zero understanding of how those work and could use some help.

While your net worth may read correctly because they are balancing each other out, things like budgeting won’t work well since you’ll be seeing income and expenses transactions that don’t really exist mixed in with real income and expense transactions. For example, if you transfer $100 from savings to checking so you can pay a pet bill, and then you spend the $100 paying the bill, with your method your budget for pets is going to reflect that you spent $200. By classifying the transfer of funds as a transfer type, it will be filtered from budget consideration, so only the actual expense transaction will be shown.

1 Like

So if I can ask, how would you go about moving the $20 from your Checking to your Savings, using categories & Transfer types? Would you be able to give me a step by step? My brain’s having a hard time understanding it…