Best Practices for Categories and AutoCat

Hi, new here and trying to get some overview help before I dig too far down into the rabbit hole of autocat and best category etiquette. I imagine I can’t be the first to ask these questions so I appreciate it if anyone can point me in the right direction since I’m still learning how to use this forum.

Context: I’m deep into traveling hacking, bank bonus earning, a little side gig, and other financial rigmaroles.

Here are general questions.
For my side gig, what’s the best way to set up the categories?
For example, I have Electronic Purchase and Electronic Sales. One for expense and one for income

For my traveling hacking, it means a lot of rebates.
For example, I may spend $34 on an airfare tax but that gets reimbursed by my credit card with a credit. If I category the expense as “airfare” but the credit as “rebate,” it’s hard to match them up later.
Should I be creating a separate category of “Credit Card Reimburseables” and “Reimbursement”
I assume this is similiar to how one would do Flexible Spending Accounts? I just can’t wrap my head around the best way to set up the categories so that it’ll be useful for queries and reports later down the line.

My side gig’s expense and income overshadows my personal spending by many folds. This is one of the reasons I look into Tiller Money in the first place. My wife also has a Schedule C small business so it added a lot of complexity when using something like Mint or Personal Capital. For the past 2 years, I’ve been recategorizing most business expense as “transfer” when using those programs because it allows me to see my personal spending better. I see that Tiller Money allows Transfer to be “hidden” but I wasn’t sure if that’s the best way to delineate business vs personal expenses. I think there’s a whole other subgroup for business spending in the forum but I don’t know where to get started.

Thanks for all your help!!

1 Like

Welcome!