Confused on categorizing loan payments

Hi folks, newbie here. I’m confused how I should be categorizing things like loan and mortgage payments?

Let’s say I have a mortgage loan with $100k balance. Every month there’s a -$1,000 payment out of my checking account to the mortgage. Do I categorize that as a “transfer”? An expense? Something else?

To further complicate things: what if my mortgage is with a small, unsupported credit union, so there’s no matching +$1,000 transaction on that mortgage account? I have to manually update the mortgage account balance every month, which is fine. But again I’m confused how to categorize those checking account transactions every month?

Same question for car loans, etc.

Hope that makes sense. Thanks so much!

2 Likes

I would say it depends on how accurate you want to be. For example in reality the $1000 mortgage payment should be broken up as principal ( transfer) and interest ( expense). While this is really accurate, This is a bit of a pain. So I just have my mortgage as an expense item and assign the payment to that category. Given that your bank isn’t connected to tiller this may be easiest path forward.

An alternate way is to split the transaction into principal and interest and then assign to each category ( mortgage interest and account transfer) However since this amount changes monthly you will have to manually adjust the amount each month.

I would ( and do) go with the easy way.

This might help. B

1 Like

@mmurdock, it also depends on whether you want the mortgage payment to be a part of your budget (if you’re using Tiller Money to keep and track a budget). If you use a Transfer category type that won’t show up on your budget and calculate into your planned or actual cash flow. If you use an expense type it will.