Monthly Budget Dashboard using Google Data Studio

What is the goal of your workflow? What problem does it solve, or how does it help you?
The goal of my workflow was to be able to have an aesthetically pleasing Dashboard that can easily be sent to me via email, and that I don’t have to spend too long making it. I can’t stress it enough that I am notorious for over complicating simple decisions. When it came to creating my own Tiller Sheet, this was the same case. Now you may ask why not use one of the gorgeous templates available, well for me I learn better by doing it on my own, and so that is what I decided to do.

How did you come up with the idea for your workflow?
I am a Product Manager at a Software SaaS company, and when it came to creating a dashboard for our mixpanel user data my manager introduced me to Google Data Studio, and after redoing my dashboard on google sheets more often than I could count, I decided to try Google Data Studio.

Please describe your workflow. What are the sheets? Does it use any custom scripts or formulas?
My workflow is pretty simple. It uses 2 sheets from the Tiller template, transactions and categories. In the transactions sheet I use a formula towards the right that pulls in the groups and type mapped to each transaction this way in Data Studio you can have higher hierarchy Type > Group > Category. You don’t have to do it this way this is just how I do it. You can easily modify this to use all Categories. However, I will say that pulling in Type is important this way you can easily generate your Net since you only have to apply 1 filter based on Type.

Workflow steps are basically going to Transaction sheet on a daily basis and categorizing each transaction then going to Data Studio and clicking refresh on the top right.