Budgeting off of gross or net pay?

So, I’m geeking out developing my Tiller spreadsheet. I’m relatively new to careful budgeting, so have a basic question: do most of you budget off of gross or net pay? And if you budget off of gross pay, how do you have it set up in Tiller?

Budgeting off of gross pay would undoubtedly give you the most complete picture, but it also seems to involve a regular reconciliation of any pre-pay deductions. So, first question : Is it worth the effort since most of those pre-pay deductions aren’t usually discretionary anyway?

And if it is worth it, how do people set it up? We never see pre-pay deductions in any account, so do you set up a manual account called something like “Gross Pay” in which you reconcile the additional gross pay and the pre-pay deductions.

Anyway, I figured there might be a bunch of budgeting nerds in here with thoughts on this, in general, and how best to manage it in Tiller. Thanks!

Here’s my take on part of your question: How To Track Your Paycheck Deductions In A Google Spreadsheet - Tiller (tillerhq.com)
The links in the article are broken, but you can find the suggested template in your Tiller Community Solutions add-on, and the documentation is here: Paycheck Deduction Transaction Generator.

2 Likes

Whoa. Magical. Thank you!

1 Like

For what my opinion is worth and have only been using Tiller for a month after 30+ years of Quicken - It seems that working off net is much simpler. At the end of the day your net check is what you have to spend.

1 Like

This is my option also. I do have a separate spreadsheet that I use to track my paycheck deductions as they usually change a couple of times a year due to health plan increases and hopefully merit increase! I then link this to my net income for each month for budget purposes. Also have a tax calculation sheet that helps me know what my refund will be. Might have to look into the above noted Paycheck Deduction Transaction Generator

1 Like