Column gone wrong

Hi, all. I’ve just noticed that a column that I’ve had hidden in my transactions sheet now has a REF error. But I’ve had the column hidden for so long that I don’t remember what it’s supposed to be :grimacing:, and I’m not very good with Google Sheet formulas. Here’s the formula in the header (in Column G if that matters):

=arrayformula(if(row($F$1:$F)=1,“Group”,iferror(vlookup($F$1:$F,{indirect(“Categories!$”&SUBSTITUTE(ADDRESS(1,MATCH(“Category”,Categories!$1:$1,0),4),1,“”)&“$2:$”&SUBSTITUTE(ADDRESS(1,MATCH(“Category”,Categories!$1:$1,0),4),1,“”)),indirect(“Categories!$”&SUBSTITUTE(ADDRESS(1,MATCH(“Group”,Categories!$1:$1,0),4),1,“”)&“$2:$”&SUBSTITUTE(ADDRESS(1,MATCH(“Group”,Categories!$1:$1,0),4),1,“”))},2,FALSE),“”)))

The REF error I’m getting is: “Array result was not expanded because it would overwrite data in G91.”

Anybody have a minute to make sense of this for me? My sheet seems to be operating just fine (there’s probably a reason I decided to hide this column in the first place), so more curious than anything. Thanks.

1 Like

Hello! Go down to cell G91 on your Transactions sheet and see if there is anything entered there. If there is, remove it and check to see if the error is gone. If it’s still there, it will complain about another cell with a value.

The formula you posted fills all the cells below it dynamically. If something else is entered in a cell that this formula would otherwise provide a value for, it will throw this error because it cannot resolve without overwriting the other value, if that makes sense.

So nothing should be manually entered into column G. If any cells in column G are populated, highlight them and hit backspace. This should resolve the issue.

1 Like