How to use the savings budget while also accounting for monthly averages

Hi,

I started using tiller in August and I love it. I am a CPA and previously used spreadsheets which would take me hours to update. However, I have been racking my brain (and searching everywhere on this site) trying to figure out a way to budget for the future that will actually work for me.

First off, I really like the savings budget template. I am in law school and don’t have a fixed income, so I like the ability to update budgets throughout the month depending on my income and monthly expenses. I also have transfer categories set up so that my monthly available funds roll over to the new month and everything zeros out at the end.

I am, however intrigued by the Budget Builder template. I like that it shows running averages which can give you an idea of what to budget for future. But, I don’t like that it doesn’t work with the savings budget template so I can’t automatically add to the budget mid-month when I have gone over in a certain category. Plus, I only have six months of expenses in the doc so it didn’t help much in terms of annual budgeting.

I wish that I could see prior months actuals or an average of prior months actuals on the savings budget tab. Right now I am estimating my budget on the categories tab, and then adjusting it using the savings budget tab throughout the month, but I feel like there should be a better way to see it all together. I realize that no template is going to be perfect, but does anyone have suggestions on what I could add that could allow me to update the savings budget while also comparing to prior months?

Thank you so much!!