Weekly report for specific categories?

So I’m new to Tiller and am absolutely loving it, but there’s one way of viewing my data that is really important to me that I haven’t figured out how to get. I’m trying to get disciplined in my discretionary spending and so want to monitor particular categories on a weekly a basis. I don’t want to include categories like my income or non-discretionary categories like medical costs or car repairs. I tried to use the “Weekly Trends” add-on and just create a formula at the bottom of the sheet to add the categories I was interested in, but when I would come back to it later the sheet would be blank and I would have to rebuild it. Is what I would like to do possible? Can anyone point me in the right direction as far as where to start?

Hi @guffia, Welcome to the community! I’ve been using Tiller for awhile but hadn’t yet checked out Weekly Trends and it seems like a really useful report for your objective. I like to think almost anything is possible, so here’s an example of two tweaks you could make that might get you close to what you’re looking for.

See the screenshot attached at the end.

Solution #1 - Add a summation row at the top and select the categories you want to sum (yellow screenshot highlight)

This sounds similar to what you were doing already. One potential pitfall with adding the summation row at the bottom is that the output of the query formula that is building the results table may collide with your sum row and maybe this is why it would blank out on you. I’d recommend putting it at the top- for example Row 2 just above the other totals. I had to unmerge the sheet title cell first as it was taking part of that row 2 real estate.

To make the sum row work on your desired categories and maintain flexibility, you can add checkboxes in ColA. Then you just need the following formula in row 2 (for my example it’s in cell D2) to do the summation for each column. You can drag this across for the 5 weeks.