Basic formula in google sheets

Hi all! I am a newbie at formulas in google sheets. I would like to have certain totals i bring into a self-designed sheet every month. If I literally just wanted to be able to calculate the total income for the month utilizing the transactions sheet, what is the simplest way to do so? I tried to click into cells on the other report sheets but they are very complicated and I’m sure have a lot of other code in there that i dont need. I know I can make a pivot table or use the category tracker to look at this, but I want to start off working with the data myself and the correct formula for this would allow me to customize it for other values i want to extract from the transaction sheet.

I know i could learn to do this from googling it but you guys are all wonderful and im sure would take far shorter to just ask. Thanks!!!

Queries are probably the best way to do this. If you’re not familiar with them, they can seem complicated, but hopefully starting with something that does what you want will help you understand how they work. Here’s what I’d use if I wanted to get all the income from my ‘Income-Paycheck’ category, where B is Date, D is Category, and E is Amount:
=QUERY(Transactions!$B$4:$E,"SELECT SUM(E) WHERE D = 'Income-PayCheck' LABEL SUM(E) ''")

If you have multiple categories you want to pull from:
=QUERY(Transactions!$B$4:$E,"SELECT SUM(E) WHERE D = 'Income-PayCheck' OR D = 'Income-Misc' LABEL SUM(E) ''")

If you wanted to limit that to just income from this year:
=QUERY(Transactions!$B$4:$E,"SELECT SUM(E) WHERE D = 'Income-PayCheck' OR D = 'Income-Misc' AND Year(B) = 2021 LABEL SUM(E) ''")

And limiting it to just this month:
=QUERY(Transactions!$B$4:$E,"SELECT SUM(E) WHERE D = 'Income-PayCheck' OR D = 'Income-Misc' AND Year(B) = 2021 AND Month(B)+1=" & MONTH(Today()) & " LABEL SUM(E) ''")

You could do a group instead of a category, or Category Type if that makes sense for what you’re looking for.