How to hide transfers from Quick Insights

On the Insights sheet of the foundation spreadsheet there’s a section called “Tiller Quick Insights”. The second insight there is “Your largest outflow in the last 90 days was ‘X’ for ‘Y’ on ‘Z’”.

While my transfers seem to be hidden from the rest of the sheet (i.e., Top 10 outflows) they’re not hidden from the Quick Insights.

Is this a bug or intended?

In either case, how do I hide transfers from that field? It’s not terribly useful when it shows credit card payments.

1 Like

In case it is helpful, and someone here will know what is happening (I’m a newbie), but my Insights | Top Outflows does NOT show Transfers. (I assume somehow you are categorizing as Transfers amounts other than payments and the usual transfer type accounts.)

Yeah, I am categorizing them as transfers. The source of the issue may be that my Apple Card account is an unlinked account that uses the Tiller Labs “Import CSV Line Items” tool.

To be clear, it’s not in the Top 10 Outflows table. It’s in the prose version in the dashboard up top.

I was hoping that since I used the “Apple Card” import in that tool it might add the account to the Accounts sheet. My guess is that because it’s not there and can’t be marked as hidden on that sheet it doesn’t filter from the Insights sheet.

Anyone know if there’s a way to add an account to the Accounts sheet that’s imported via CSV? That way I can determine if it’s the source of the problem.

I’d post a screenshot if this app would let me, but it doesn’t seem to ¯_(ツ)_/¯

It looks like the query that selects the largest outflow doesn’t filter at all, honestly:

=iferror(query(indirect(P15),"SELECT "&P10&", "&P13&", "&P12&" WHERE "&P10&" >= date '"&TEXT( today()-P6,"yyyy-mm-dd")&"' ORDER BY "&P12&" ASC LIMIT 1",-1))

I’m hesitant to edit a core sheet (particularly this one) because I’m unsure how overwrites happen with new versions.

Feel free to rework the formulas as you like, @lightcap.

Two notes: