Closed Account: Retain History But Keep from Showing Up Going Forward

for a closed account, how do I get it to show up on my historical data (net worth snapshot, networth tracker) but stop showing up on my current balances. I changed the balance history so that it shows a 0$ balance but I rather it stop showing up on current balance and on networth sheets going forward

7 Likes

@joshmccormackpt, you just need to unlink it from the sheet - so it will no longer pull in data on the Balance History sheet.

Does that help?

Heather, is there a way to tell Tiller to stop trying to update a closed account without removing it? Seems like having unnecessary update failures isn’t useful.

1 Like

Well unlinking it is different than removing it, which I interpret as removing it from the Console entirely :slight_smile: Unlinking it just removes the linkage from the sheet for future data, but if it’s a closed account there isn’t likely to be any future data so neither of those really solves this.

In either case it shouldn’t fail to update, it just won’t update.

And my original reply actually wouldn’t stop it from showing on the Balances sheet and Net Worth sheets as I re-read this. To prevent it from showing on those sheets you’d need to hide it, but you’d also be hiding the historical data so I don’t think there is actually a way to do this.

@aronos , are you having an issue with an account? Just curious why you’re asking.

Hi @heather

I misread the original question so my follow-up wasn’t as related as I thought. But here’s what I’m looking at:

I have closed one of my investment accounts and my bank is shutting down, so I’m moving my checking and savings accounts. I want to maintain the history for them in my sheets for budget and net worth tracking/history. I’d also like to maintain the history on Tiller so it will download load if I ever had to start a new sheet fresh. What is the best way to deal with that? If I remove them from the console will it remove the server side history too?

@aronos

Based on my experience, this is what I would do.

  1. Delete the accounts on the console. This will not delete any history that is already in Tiller. No need to access these accounts via Tiller again since they are now closed so no problems here.
  2. The accounts will still show on the accounts sheet. Leave those alone.
  3. You do not need to employ any hides anywhere.
  4. The historical data will remain on the balance history and transactions sheets and be available for use on the comparison sheets, net worth sheets, etc.
  5. The accounts will still show up on the balances sheet but their balances will be zero.
  6. To get the updated column on the balances sheet to show today, enter a manual entry on the balances history sheet and use a date in the future like 12-31-21.
  7. If you ever need to move to a new sheet, all the data is there and able to be moved over just like normal.

Cheers,

Blake

1 Like

Thanks, @Blake

I think I have an unreasonable fear that “somehow” I’ll completely lose my historical data, even though logically I know that the events that would have to take place for that to actually happen would probably result in that information being completely useless to me anyway. When it comes to data backup my head is still in the 90s sometimes, where I suffered one too many “catastrophic” data losses. :crazy_face:

@aronos

Here is a clever way to backup.

Set up a Mint account and link all your accounts. Check back regularly to be sure the links remain intact.

If you lose everything in 2025, just go back to Mint and export everything there out to Excel. You might not have the categories, but at least you will have the raw data needed to rebuild.

Blake

Perhaps @heather or @brasten or @tom can confirm, @aronos, but I think @Blake is correct that deleting the account from the Tiller Money Console will remove the plumbing for gathering new data but will preserve the data that is already in the feeds-service back end. ← EDIT: THIS IS INCORRECT (see below)

As I type this though, I’m wondering how you’d access that if you wanted to start a new spreadsheet and pull in the historic data if there was no reference to the account on the Console UX. :thinking: (Of course you could pull over that history manually or via the Migration Helper.)

Perhaps the best approach is to unlink the obsolete account from the spreadsheet but leave the connection intact in the Console. Then, if you started a new spreadsheet, you’d be able to link the account to the spreadsheet and pull down those old transactions.

1 Like

This is a clever solution, @Blake. You could go one step further and just set the date on the most recent balance entry to “=TODAY()”.

1 Like

See my #2 above. Those deleted accounts will still show in the accounts tab. Do not touch those. He is closing the accounts. Once closed, usually you cannot access your account online anymore. If you cannot access, Yodlee cannot either. Even if you can access, you will only get 3 months of historical data at the most. If he were to start a new sheet in 3 months, the last 3 months would yield nothing because there is no activity since the account is closed. If he wants to start a new sheet, he can manually bring the data in from the current sheet. Blake

According to the warning (which of course doesn’t always mean anything) it removes it. Which is fine. I need to get past the unreasonable fear that my spreadsheets will somehow completely disappear. :crazy_face:

image

@randy Thanks. This would be changing the raw data which is not smart to do in my mind. Lets say in the future you wanted to know what date was there before you changed it to the formula? You would not know the answer for sure. My way, its stays intact and I accomplish the same end result, all while documenting what I am doing. Cheers, Blake

This is incorrect. If you remove an account from the Console it will remove any existing data in our database for that account, but it does not remove it from the sheet so you’ll have the data in the sheet as a backup but you wouldn’t be able to feed that accounts historical data into another / new sheet automatically (but you could use copy/paste)

1 Like