Manual transaction not updating account balances

I created a couple of manual transactions to reflect pending transactions on my linked bank accounts, but these transactions are not updating in account balances.
Am I doing something wrong???
I’m also very new to this so please forgive my stupidity…

Transactions and balances are completely separate, each is pulled from the account but are put on separate sheets (‘Transactions’ and '‘Balance History’ which feeds the ‘Balances’ sheet). Adding a transaction doesn’t affect your ‘Balance’ sheet. Some templates and reports may calculate balances based on transactions, so those may be affected by your manually entered transactions.

3 Likes

Yeah I have a credit card that transactions are never pulled but the balance is updated with a number that I have no idea where it comes from because it is not close to being correct.

As @jpfieber notes, transactions and balances are only coupled through the data Tiller receives from your bank. They are not connected in your spreadsheet.

Most people use the manual transaction workflows either to:

• Create transactions for unlinked accounts that conform to Tiller’s data conventions
  • Input pending transactions for linked accounts (e.g. a check you write) that can later be reconciled with Tiller feeds data

For unlinked accounts, the manual-transaction workflow will offer to create a manual balance entry.

If you are concerned about the data coming in for a linked credit card, I’d recommend reaching out to our support team via the chat window in the lower right corner of the Console at https://sheets.tillerhq.com/auth/login