Setting starting category balances in Foundation template?

I’m new to Tiller and getting started with the Foundation template. I’ve been zero sum budgeting for years so many of my categories (e.g. property tax payment, vacation fund) already have a starting balance. What’s the best way to input these starting balances? I put them in as budgeted amounts for the previous month, but is that the best place for it?

Thanks!

Hi @Budget2FIRE,
When you say these categories already have a starting balance, are you talking about a budgeted balance or an actual balance or both?

If you need to get some initial actual Category values in, you could add balancing or initial transactions on the first date of the year, or the first day you started using Tiller transactions.

I think its fine if you put them in as budget amounts for the previous month, if that method works for you.

It turns out putting the previous budgeted amounts (e.g. previously saved $400 in my Vacation category in 2018, budgeting an additional $100/month) isn’t rolling over month to month on the yearly view, so I can’t see what i have to available to spend in a given year, in terms of actual money, not just the projected annual budget. For September, I just see I have $100 in the vacation category that was budgeted in Sept. I don’t see that i have $400 left from earlier in the year, plus $100, available to spend anywhere. The yearly view shows $800 available, which assumes I keep budgeting exactly the same amount to that category for the rest of the year.