Tiller - Too much work

I’ve been using Tiller since 2018, but I feel like it’s not for me anymore.

• I don’t view/categorize my transactions as frequently as i used to. (yes I have some set to auto), and this is something that really needs to be kept up on.
  • Amazon purchases require too much manual process to get entered and categorize. I was using the somewhat painful download and import method until Amazon broke it about a year or so ago.
  • When I do decide to examine my tiller sheets (which might be monthly) almost always, more than one source has stopped syncing which requires quite a bit of troubleshooting and logging in to get working again.
  • Launching Tiller requires too many clicks to get things syncing and transactions downloaded. In ye ol’ day of Tiller it was Tiller hosted and auto updated.
  • I don’t really do budgeting, so the real benefit to me was transaction searching and adhoc reports. But Tiller occasionally changes functionality which requires a new spreadsheet and new data (happened twice). So historical data is spread amongst different sheets.
  • I’m glad tiller opened a community and has various community templates…but almost all are based on the need for folks to budget, rather than investigate.

Maybe I’m just getting older and want a less maintenance required approach.

(then again my tiller subscription just renewed automatically this month…argh)

2 Likes

I’m new to Tiller. Still in trial phase. I am leaving Quicken which has become torturous to use since they went to a cloud subscription service.

For Amazon I would think you could use their credit card and import transactions regularly. That is what I intend to do. A nice side benefit is Amazon’s card has great cas back benefits.

I also want to use Tiller for exploration. I find categories work for that but you do have to download regularly.

I see two drawbacks so far