Transaction splitter issue / Saved Splits

:wave:

Hello - I am new to Tiller and Google Sheets.
I have however managed to get the Saved Splits into my Google Sheet.

My problem is that in the Saved Splits sheet, when I go to pick a category, it just says loading.
Apparently I have done something wrong and I am hoping someone can help me fix it.
I do have the required columns in my Transactions sheet.

In my Transactions Sheet - Category Column is “D”. In Saved Splits Sheet - Category Column is “C”. Is this my problem?

Thanks for any advice! :slight_smile:

That is an interesting problem, @Ramona.

After drawing the Transaction Splitter sidebar pane, the TMF add-on tries to load your categories from the Categories sheet. It sounds like this process isn’t working for you.

Here are a few things to look into and try:

• If you go to the “Add Manual Transaction” pane in TMF, do your categories load into the dropdown?
  • Is your categories sheet called exactly “Categories”? (Pay attention to whitespace characters on either side.)
  • Is there a column in your Categories sheet called exactly “Category”? (Pay attention to whitespace characters on either side.)
  • Can you respond with a screenshot of the first few rows of your Categories and Saved Splits sheets?

The horizontal position of the columns shouldn’t matter too much so long as the header names are correct and in the first row.

Hi @randy, Thanks for getting back to me.

Add Manual Transaction - Categories load into dropdown fine
Categories Sheet - Is exactly called Categories
Categories Sheet Column - Is Exactly Category

Oh interesting… I thought you meant it was “loading…” in our add-on.

What happens if you just rebuild the data validation? Can you clear the data validation in the Saved Splits sheet (Category column) and then recreate the reference in that sheet to column A in the Categories sheet.

Can you let me know if that works?

Sorry @randy for the delay.