How Tiller Works. . .And Why Problems Are Sometimes, But Not Always, Its Fault

Good morning, friends. I see a fair amount of posts on here expressing frustration with various issues–faulty bank connections, missing data, etc. I thought it might be useful to have a discussion about how services like Tiller actually work. This is not to let Tiller off the hook for things going wrong, but maybe just to explain how these things break down. I’m not an expert and I’m not in this industry, but I guess I consider finances and technology a bit of a hobby. So, this is based on having played around with a bunch of these services over the years and what I’ve learned:

1. We start with all of the financial institutions with which we do business. Everything from banks to investment institutions to credit card companies. Each of these institutions maintains data about its customers, and that data may be structured in a variety of different formats. Each of these institutions also has its own security protocols that mandate things like multifactor authentication. The first challenge, then, is to figure out how to get this data from the thousands of financial institutions that we use.